• Info: WSK Promotion / Guillaume Alvarez
  • Photos: Sportinphoto

A total of 171 drivers from 44 nations got on track in the three categories Mini, OK-Junior, and OK on the World Circuit of La Conca, in Muro Leccese. The KZ2 class will get back for Round 3 and 4, taking place respectively on March 28th at Sarno and April 25th at Lonato.

OK: Lindblad wins, Camara retains the lead

Sunday’s OK Final saw more than one driver in the lead. The first position was initially taken by Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR/IAME). The young Italian got off to a great start from pole position, kept the lead during half of the race before being overtaken by his teammate and classification leader Rafael Camara (KR/IAME). In the closing laps, Arvid Lindblad (KR/IAME) took the lead and kept it all the way to the flag. He preceded Camara and Tymoteus Kucharczyk (RK/TM), while Joseph Turney (Tony Kart/Vortex) recovered up to fourth. Antonelli eventually had to settle for fifth place ahead of Alfio Andrea Spina (Tony Kart/Vortex). In the overall class standings, Camara retained the lead at 164 points with Lindblad following as second (136).

OK-Junior: Powell takes it all

In OK-Junior, Alex Powell (KR/IAME) had the upper hand at the end of a good Final led from lights to flag, while the other great protagonist of the weekend, Akshay Bohra (KR/IAME), had some ground to recover after the start. At the flag, Bohra secured second place, followed by Matheus Ferreira (KR/IAME). Tigran Bunatyan (Tony Kart/TM) was also among the fastest and claimed fourth place, in front of Miguel Costa (KR/IAME). Douwe Dedecker (KR/IAME) was sixth at the end of a good recovery run and led Alexander Gubenko (Tony Kart/Vortex) and Ean Eyckmans (Kosmic/Vortex). Powell put himself on top of the series’s standings with 108 points, relegating Al Dhaheri to second at 94.

Mini: Victory and classification lead to Costoya

Several position changes made the Mini Final uncertain until the closing lap when Christian Costoya (Parolin/TM) had the upper hand over his teammate Matias Orjuela, second on the finish line by just 0.009s! The third step of the podium went to Gerasim Skulanov (CRG/TM), who recovered several places and ended ahead of Vladimir Ivannikov (Parolin/TM) and René Lammers (Parolin/IAME). The latter was therefore overtaken in the classification by Costoya that reached 127 points against the 119 scored so far by Lammers. Tiziano Monza (KR/IAME) secured the sixth place in front of Emanuele Olivieri (IPK/TM). The top ten was rounded off by Jan Przyrowsky (Parolin/TM), Enzo Tarnvanichkul (KR/IAME) and Niklas Schaufler (EKS/TM).

Find out more about driver 2021 driver line-ups on our special page

More about WSK:

More about the 2021 season:

Follow The RaceBox on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Youtube!