• Info: WSK Promotion
  • Photos: Sportinphoto

The first meeting of the 2021 WSK Super Master Series saw again a strong driver participation with more than 340 entries, from 50 different countries, competing on the Adria Karting Raceway in KZ2, OK, OK-Junior and Mini. The final stages run on Sunday, February 28th, have been particularly exciting at the end of 50 Qualifying Heats, as well as Prefinal A and B.

KZ2: Gustavsson at the top

After an initial lead by the Finn Juho Valtanen (KR/TM), the Swede Viktor Gustavsson (Bire ART/TM) took the lead and won the gearbox class’s Final. Gustavsson turned out to be the main protagonist of the opener of the WSK Super Master Series after winning the WSK Champions Cup last week. He posted the quickest time in Friday’s Qualifying, was second after the heats, won his Prefinal, and secured a strong final.

The second place went to Valtanen, while the third to Francesco Celenta (Parolin/TM) following a good recovery. Among the big names that did not finish the decisive race, the Finn Simo Puhakka (Tony Kart/Vortex) had an incident at the start and could not confirm his leading status after the heats. Danilo Albanese (KR/IAME) secured a good fourth place leading Senna Van Walstijn (Sodikart/TM) and Riccardo Longhi (Birel ART/TM), while Alex Irlando ended seventh for his maiden race wearing the CRG colors.

KZ2 Final top 10 classification:

  • 1. Gustavsson
  • 2. Valtanen
  • 3. Celenta
  • 4. Albanese
  • 5. Van Walstijn
  • 6. Longhi
  • 7. Irlando
  • 8. Marseglia
  • 9. Renaudin
  • 10. Piccini
© Sportinphoto

OK: A victorious Camara makes up for lost ground

An incident at the start of the Final voided the victory scored by Arvid Lindblad (KR/IAME) in the heats and in his Prefinal. The Italian Edoardo Ludovico Villa (TB Kart/TM) initially took advantage of the British driver’s misfortune, but Rafael Camara (KR/IAME) eventually recovered the positions he lost at the start. The Brazilian bounced back on top and took the win, building a good margin on Villa.

The American Ugo Ugochukwu (KR/IAME) secured a good third place, ahead of the Bulgarian Nikola Tsolov (KR/IAME), who led the Pole Tymoteusz Kucharczyk (RK/TM) – that also recovered some ground – and the Israeli Elkin Ariel (KR/IAME). Brando Badoer (KR/IAME) slipped down to seventh after battling for the podium in the Final’s early stages.

OK Final top 10 classification:

  • 1. Camara
  • 2. Villa
  • 3. Ugochukwu
  • 4. Tsolov
  • 5. Kucharczyk
  • 6. Elkin
  • 7. Badoer
  • 8. Severiukhin
  • 9. Stenshorne
  • 10. Paparo
© Sportinphoto

OK-Junior: Al Dhaheri dominates

United Arab Emirates’ Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin/TM) claimed the win thanks to a great start after winning his Prefinal. On the contrary, the British driver Freddie Slater (Kosmic/Vortex) lost several places early on and did not take part in the duel for the win. The Russian Kirill Kutskov (KR/IAME) crossed the finish line in second place but a five-second time penalty saw him slip down to seventh.

Second place was therefore inherited by the Pole Gustaw Wisniewski (KR/IAME) and the third by the Brazilian Matheus Ferreira (KR/IAME) at the end of an excellent recovery. Slater had to settle for fourth, leading two other protagonists, the Japanese Kean Nakamura Berta (Exprit/TM) and the German Maxim Rehm (Kosmic/Vortex).

OK-Junior Final top 10 classification:

  • 1. Al Dhaheri
  • 2. Wisniewki
  • 3. Ferreira
  • 4. Slater
  • 5. Nakamura
  • 6. Rehm
  • 7. Kutskov
  • 8. Popov
  • 9. Krapin
  • 10. Irfan
© Sportinphoto

Mini: Lammers pips Przrowsky

The Mini Final has been exciting from lights to flag as the Dutch René Lammers (Parolin/IAME) and the Pole Jan Przrowsky (Parolin/TM) were very close to each other for the whole ten laps. In the sprint to the line, Lammers managed to be 0.049s clear of the Pole. Third place went to the Russian Gerasim Skulanov (CRG/TM) who recovered well after losing some ground at the start. The Singaporian Tiziano Monza (KR/IAME) led a strong race ending fourth and preceding in order: Jacopo Martinese (Parolin/TM), the Belgian Dries Van Langendonck (Birel ART/TM), Emanuele Olivieri (IPK/TM), the Spanish driver Christian Costoya (Parolin/TM), the Swiss Kian Fardin (KR/IAME) and the Chinese Zhenrui Chi (Parolin/IAME).

Mini Final top 10 classification:

  • 1. Lammers
  • 2. Przyrowsky
  • 3. Skulanov
  • 4. Monza
  • 5. Martinese
  • 6. Van Langendonck
  • 7. Olivieri
  • 8. Costoya
  • 9. Fardin
  • 10. Chi

Click here for the complete Final results.

Find out more about driver line-ups for 2021 on our dedicated page.

More about the 2021 season:

Follow The RaceBox on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Youtube!