• Info: WSK Promotion
  • Photos: Sportinphoto

Qualifying of WSK Champions Cup in Adria kicked off the WSK 2021 season with an excellent overall participation in all categories. The first titles of the season will be awarded this weekend for Mini, OK-Junior, OK and KZ2.


KZ2: Renaudin from Albanese

The fastest time in the gearbox class was posted by the French driver Adrien Renaudin (Sodikart/TM) in Series 1, completing his best lap in 47.540s, ahead of the Italian Danilo Albanese (KR/TM)), who went fastest in Series 2 in 47.557s. Francesco Celenta (Parolin/TM) came back with an excellent third-fastest time in 47.606s, while the Swede Viktor Gustavsson (Birel ART/TM) was fourth-best.

Mini 60: Emanuele Olivieri on top

The fastest in the Mini class was Emanuele Oliveri (Formula K/TM) who posted his 54.758s in Series 4, allowing him to lead by a whisker the Belgian Dries Van Langendonk (Birel ART/TM), who ran Series 2, and the Swiss Kilian Josseron (KR/IAME), that set the best time in Series 3 in 54.945s. The fastest of Series 1 was the Australian Griffin Peebles (KR/IAME) in 55.159s

OK: Lindblad and Antonelli lead the pack

Arvid Lindblad (KR/IAME, winner of the 2020 WSK Super Master – OK-Junior, came to the fore for his debut in OK. The British driver was the fastest of Series 1 and posted the quickest time in 48.102s, while Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR/IAME) topped the charts of Series 2 in 48.237s.

OK-Junior: Pole position to Rehm

The 49.979s posted by Maxim Rehm (Kosmic/Vortex) in Series 3 of OK-Junior earned him the pole position. The fastest of Series 2 was the Russian Tigran Bunatyan (Tony Kart/TM) in 50.020s, while the best time of Series 1 was set by the Russian Dmitry Matveev (KR/IAME) in 50.137s.

Qualifying Heats

KZ2: Renaudin and Celenta to the fore

In the first of the two KZ2 heats on Friday, victory went to Albanese, but then he slipped down to the tenth place of the provisional classification due to a 5-second penalty for jumping one start. The win went therefore to the Renaudin, who started from pole and led the two Dutch drivers Stan Pex (KR/TM) and Martijn Van Leeuwen (Energy/TM) at the flag. Celenta came to the fore in the second heat, winning from the Finn Juho Valtanen (KR/TM) and Gustavsson.

OK: Several protagonists in the mix

The first OK heat was won by the Finn Nikolas Pirttilahti (Exprit/TM), while the second one by the Brazilian Rafael Camara (KR/IAME). A good result for his debut in the higher category was obtained by Lindblad who won the third heat. The Finn Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart/Vortex) confirmed his speed winning the fourth heat of the day.

OK-Junior: Big battles at the early stage

The driver from Jamaica Alex Powell (KR/IAME), Arab Emirates’ Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin/TM), the Finn Luka Sammalisto (KR/IAME), Rehm and the Japanese Kean Nakamura Berta (Exprit/TM) came to the fore in the heats. The British driver Freddie Slater (Kosmic/Vortex) and Matveev were also among the quickest drivers.

Mini 60: Olivieri and Tarnvanichkul take two wins

Two wins went to the poleman Olivieri and to the Thai Enzo Tarnvanichkul (KR/IAME), while other protagonists were the Dutch René Lammers (Parolin/IAME), the Swiss Kilian Josseron (KR/IAME), the Asian Tiziano Monza (KR/IAME), the Pole Jan Przyrowsky (Parolin/TM) and the Italian Jacopo Martinese (Parolin/TM), who won a spectacular heat at the end of the day.

Don’t miss the WSK Champions Cup on our live page!

Main schedule

Saturday08:00 – 09:38 Warm-up
09:40 – 18:35 Qualifying Heats
Sunday08:20 – 09:58 Warm-up
10:00 – 11:00 Qualifying Heats

11:00 – 13:40 Prefinals
14:20 – 14:45 OK-Junior Final

14:50 – 15:15 OK Final
15:20 – 15:45 KZ2 Final
15:50 – 16:16 Mini Final

Find out more about driver line-ups for 2021 on our dedicated page.

More about the 2021 season:

Follow The RaceBox on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Youtube!