• Info: Guillaume Alvarez
  • Photos: Alex Vernardis / The RaceBox

Qualified in a distant ninth place on the grid after a difficult Prefinal, Cathal Clark (Fusion Motorsport) quickly worked his way up to fourth position in the opening stages of the 14 lap-Final. From then on, the young Brit was able to close up on the group up front, led by Leo Robinson (Fusion Motorsport). The heat leader on Saturday had taken the best start in front of the polesitter Fionn McLaughlin (Fusion Motorsport) with Alex O’Grady (Fusion Motorsport) keeping a close watch from third.

The race took a decisive turn on the penultimate lap when McLaughlin dived around the inside of Robinson at Turn 1, allowing Clark, who had moved past O’Grady for third, to further close the gap. Drama struck for Robinson in the next and last round when an attempt to repass the leader resulted in a contact that sent him off the grass and down to 11th!

As the threat from his teammate had faded away, McLaughlin crossed the line first, followed by Clark and O’Grady. The Top-Three order was eventually modified following a penalty handed to the winner, which re-classified Clark in first place and promoted O’Grady to second and Tiziano Kuzhnini (Spirit-Racing.ch) to third.

Adrian Benito Ferrer (Praga Espana Motorsport) was classified in fourth place ahead of Sandro Sanchez Perez (Monlau Competicion) and Thomas Quince (Trèfle Racing). Denis Curavale (Kart Republic Spain) won the “Driver of the Day” awards thanks to a strong recovery from 22nd to seventh, in front of Thomas Strauven (Strawberry Racing), Alex Martinez (Praga Espana Motorsport), and McLaughlin dropping down to the edge of the Top-Ten.

Check out the complete results of the Mini Final.

In the provisional standings after Essay, O’Grady leads with 82 points, one ahead of Clark and Tuzhnini, both at 81. The 2020 IAME X30 Euro Series will be back on track on August 27-30 for its Second Round taking place on the Kartodromo Internacional Lucas Guerrero of Valencia, in Spain.

You may also be interested in:

Follow The RaceBox on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Youtube!