• Info: WSK Promotion
  • Photos: Sportinphoto / KSP

The 2020 WSK Euro Series had an exciting and unpredictable conclusion after six racing days in the double round taking place at the South Garda Karting Circuit of Lonato. The Grand Finale on Sunday, September 20th, was dedicated to the closing races of the Round 2 and 3 for the KZ2, OK, OK-Junior and Mini 60 categories.

The eight finals of Lonato completed the intense program on Sunday in an event that involved 226 drivers out of the over 240 entered from 34 different countries. They competed in 80 races including heats and Prefinals that were necessary to name the finalists, putting in a remarkable spectacle with a lot of champions coming to the fore.

The final victories went to Riccardo Longhi (Birel ART/TM) in KZ2, Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR/IAME) in OK, who also won the Italian ACI Sport Championship, Alfio Andrea Spina (Tony Kart/Vortex) in OK-Junior, as well as the Italian title in the same category, and Rene Lammers (Parolin/IAME) in Mini 60.

Karting, Longhi Riccardo, KZ2, I, BIREL ART / TM / VEGA, Birel Art Racing, WSK – Euro Series, LONATO, International Race, © KSP Reportages

KZ2: Rounds 2 and 3 for Kremers and Irlando, the title to Longhi

The Round 2 victory in the KZ2 class went to the Dutchman Marijn Kremers (Ricciardo Kart/TM) in front of two Italians, Riccardo Longhi and Matteo Viganò (BirelART/TM), while Round 3’s went to Alex Irlando (Birel ART/TM), leading the Dutchman Bas Lammers (Sodikart/TM) and Giuseppe Palomba (Birel ART/TM). The Italian has been the most accredited title contender but thanks to the points scored in Sarno’s opener added to those of Lonato, Longhi claimed the title with a five-point advantage, despite finishing a distant 11th in the Final.

WSK Euro Series – Final KZ2 classification:

1. Longhi 242 points; 2. Palomba 237; 3. Irlando 199; 4. Torsellini 176; 5. Kremers 134; 6. Lammers 120; 7. Albanese 111; 8. Viganò 110; 9. Camplese 101; 10. Iglesias 94.

© Sportinphoto

OK: Round 2, WSK and Italian title to Antonelli, Turney wins Round 3

The Italian Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR/IAME) has been the main protagonist in the OK class. He won Round 2’s Final, putting a serious hand on the title and winning the Italian ACI Sport crown as well. His main rivals were the British driver Joe Turney (Tony Kart/Vortex) and the Finn Juho Valtanen (KR/IAME) who stepped on the podium behind Antonelli in the second round. In Round 3’s Final, Antonelli had to settle for fourth, as Joe Turney claimed the win ahead of the Russian Nikita Bedrin (Tony Kart/Vortex) and Valtanen. Antonelli won the title, leading his closest rival by 28 points.

WSK Euro Series – Final OK classification:

1. Antonelli 299 points; 2. Valtanen 271; 3. Turney 261; 4. Bedrin 170; 5. Coluccio 156; 6. Gray 154; 7. Wharton 99; 8. Camara 97; 9. Wurz 96; 10. Van T Hoff 78.

© Sportinphoto

Junior: Spina takes Round 2, WSK and national titles, Round 3 to Lindblad

Alfio Spina (Tony Kart/Vortex) had a crescendo of results in the double round of Lonato. The Italian came out in the final stages winning both Round 2 and he Italian ACI Sport Championship, while finishing second in Round 3. A lot of other drivers challenged him, including Brando Badoer (KR/IAME) who ended the two finals respectively in second and third place, the Brit Coskun Irfan (Kosmic/Vortex), third in Round 2, and the other British driver Arvid Lindblad (KR/IAME) who won the closing final of Round 3.

WSK Euro Series – Final Junior classification:

1. Spina 302 points; 2. Badoer 218; 3. Cepil 211; 4. Lindblad 208; 5. Taponen 157; 6. Irfan 122; 7. Dodds 118; 8. Slater 115; 9. Ugochukwu 93; 10. Keeble 83.

© Sportinphoto

Mini: Nakamura-Berta wins Round 2, Lammers clinches both Round 3 and title

In Mini 60, the Dutchman René Lammers (Parolin/IAME) had the upper hand, coming second in Round 2 and winning the sprint to the line in Round 3. This result allowed him to take the title from the Japanese Kean Nakamura-Berta (KR/IAME), one of his strongest rivals. In Round 2, the Japanese secured the victory ahead of Lammers and the American Kai Sorensen (Parolin/TM). Lammers won Round 3’s Final, though, leading the Team Driver Racing Kart’s duo made of the Slovenian Mark Kastelic and the Italian Antonio Apicella, as their teammate Nakamura-Berta ended fourth and lost the classification lead to Lammers.

WSK Euro Series – Final Mini 60 classification:

1. Lammers 295 points; 2. Nakamura 278; 3. Przyrowsky 216; 4. Kastelic 182; 5. Sorensen 173; 6. Costoya 153; 7. Apicella 145; 8. Saeter 123; 9. Egozi 93; 10. Cardenas 66.

Next meeting: the two rounds of WSK Open Cup on November 23-29 at the Adria Karting Raceway.

Latest about WSK Euro Series:

Follow The RaceBox on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Youtube!