• Info: WSK Promotion
  • Photos: Sportinphoto

After Qualifying and the 42 heats were run in ideal conditions, rain fell during the final stages on Sunday, highlighting the driving skills of a lot of the protagonists, while bringing out a few surprises at the end of the international karting attended by 253 karting drivers from 46 countries.


The victory in the first of the two OK Prefinals went to the British driver Arvid Lindblad (KR/IAME), already on pole after Qualifying and on top after the heats. Prefinal B was deservedly won by the Italian Luigi Coluccio (Kosmic/Vortex).

In Mini, the Pole Jan Przyrowsky (Parolin/TM Racing) surprisingly won Prefinal A after an 11-place comeback. Another surprise came in Prefinal B when the Thai Enzo Tarnvanichkul (KR/IAME) secured the win. The Asian Tiziano Monza (KR/IAME) was among the protagonists out of the Final.

Riccardo Longhi (BirelART/TM Racing) came to the fore in KZ2 winning Prefinal A, while his teammate from Holland Marijn Kremers did the same in Prefinal B; building a lead of more than 13s on his closest rival.

In OK-Junior, Prefinal A was dominated by the aggressive driving of the British driver Harley Keeble (Tony Kart/Vortex). In Prefinal B, the driver from United Arab Emirates Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin/TM Racing) climbed all the way up from eighth to the win.


KZ2: Kremers dominates a tight Final

KZ2 lived on an infinite series of duels but Kremers pulled away in the Final. Behind him, a close battle was fought by his teammate Longhi and the French Adrien Renaudin (Sodikart/TM Racing). The two eventually were handed a penalty: five seconds due to a misplaced front fairing for Longhi and ten seconds to Renaudin for unfair behavior. The second place went therefore to the Frenchman Jeremy Iglesias (CRG/TM Racing) and the third to an excellent Pedro Hiltbrand (Tony Kart/Vortex), who completed a 23-places recovery.

KZ2 Final: 1. Kremers; 2. Iglesias; 3. Hiltbrand; 4. Lundberg; 5. Federer; 6. Renaudin; 7. Longhi; 8. Fusco; 9. Schmitz; 10. Van Hoepen.

OK: Lindblad confirms his lead

The initial duel between the American Ugo Ugochukwu KR/IAME) and Lindblad has been exciting. After the initial fights, Lindblad took the lead and kept it all the way to the flag. Ugochukwu settled for second, while Coluccio ended third leading the Brazilian Rafael Camara (KR/IAME). A five-second penalty at the end of the race due to a misplaced front fairing stripped Coluccio from the podium. Camara was also penalized and the third place was therefore inherited by Brando Badoer (KR/IAME).

OK Final: 1. Lindblad; 2. Ugochukwu; 3. Badoer; 4. Coluccio; 5. Taponen; 6. Camara; 7. Bertuca; 8. Andreasson; 9. Kucharczyk; 10. Tsolov.

OK-Junior: Great win for Al Dhaheri

Another good battle was fought between the two winners of the OK-Junior Prefinals. Al Dhaheri eventually secured a great win in the Final, leading his closest rival Keeble. Some penalties due to misplaced front fairings hit several drivers, including the German Maxim Rehm (Kosmic/Vortex), who lost third place, and the Russian Alexander Gubenko (Tony Kart/Vortex). The podium went therefore to the Italian Francesco Marenghi (KR/IAME), who recovered eight places in the race.

OK-Junior Final: 1. Al Dhaheri; 2. Keeble; 3. Marenghi; 4. Rehm; 5. Kutskov; 6. Gubenko; 7. Bohra; 8. Macintyre; 9. Powell; 10. Scaap.

Mini: Great recovery and win for Pesl

Tarnvanichkul led the race early on but the lead was taken by the Czech Jindrich Pesl (Parolin/IAME), who had already claimed pole position but slipped down the field in the heats. The duel among the two continued all the way to the flag, but Pesl crossed the finish line on top and was followed by Tarnvanichkul and the Italian Emanuele Olivieri (IPK/TM Racing). The Belgian Dries Van Langendonck (BirelART/TM Racing) secured a great fourth place. The Dutch René Lammers (Parolin/IAME) recovered 22 places and ended fifth.

MINI Final: 1. Pesl; 2. Tarnvanichkul; 3. Olivieri; 4. Van Langendonck; 5. Lammers; 6. Josseron; 7. Sala; 8. Costoya; 9. Bogunovic; 10. Chi.

The next round of the 2021 WSK season, the closer of the WSK Super Master Series, will take place on April 21-25, 2021, again in Lonato.

More about WSK:

Follow The RaceBox on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Youtube!