• Info & photos: DKM

After a long winter break and weeks of uncertainty, the 2021 DKM season is about to kick off at Kerpen with big anticipation among drivers, teams, and organizers.

“We’re very excited to be able to start into the season here in Kerpen as planned”, says series coordinator Stefan Wagner. “The whole team has put a lot of work into organizing everything and is now ready for the start. I would already like to thank the participants who make for attractive fields of participants again.”

The Covid-19 pandemic and the restrictions that go along with it were again at the center of the efforts. The extensive security- and hygiene- concepts of the DKM as well as the compulsory tests for everyone made a secure event possible. “We’re still working with our security transponders that have already proven effective last year and have also made testing compulsory for everyone. We’re building a test laboratory for this at the race track”, adds Wagner. 

Exciting racing expected

From a sportive point of view, the new season promises huge excitement again. Among the big favorites is current Vice-Champion Luca Griggs (KSM Official Racing Team). Next to him, a couple of German drivers have the potential to fight for victory. 

The Juniors are completely reclassified. With 38 youngsters, it’s the strongest grade series within the framework of the series. The winners and best-placed drivers rose, so Kerpen is now going to be the first trial of strength. Germany’s Maxim Rehm (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), as well as TB Racing Team-duo Douwe Dedecker and Akshay Bohra, are surely among the favorites as well. The trio already achieved great results during the past weeks at international races. 

A meeting of Champions is going to happen at the German Shifterkart Championship. While the Pex brothers Jorrit and Stan will not participate anymore after more than 10 years and numerous titles – the current DKM-Champion Juho Valtanen (SP Motorsport), junior Champion Kris Haanen (KSM Official Racing Team), and DSKC-winner Tim Tröger (SRP Racing Team) will compete against each other. Additionally, the two former DSKM-Champions Fabian Federer (SRP Racing Team) and Alexander Schmitz (Birel Art Racing KSW) will also strengthen the high quality of the field. 

Due to the rise of the first five drivers from the 2020 DSKC season, the cards of the Cup are going to be dealt anew. 28 drivers are starting and want to succeed Champion Tim Tröger at the end of the year.

You may also be interested:

Follow The RaceBox on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Youtube!