• Info & photo: Parma Motorsport

Very exciting finals took place last weekend onto the International 7 Laghi Circuit in Castelletto di Branduzzo (Pavia). The closing races confirmed the value of the main protagonists in qualifying, as the exciting battles until the end made the event, celebrating each year the memory of the young Andrea Margutti since 1990, even more interesting. In Castelletto, the prestigious Hall of Fame of the event was enriched by five new names: the top step of the KZ2 podium went to Senna Van Valstijn, that of OK-Junior to Alex Powell, International Mini’s to René Lammers, X30 Junior’s to Clément Outran and X30 Senior’s to Edoardo Villa.

KZ2: Van Valstijn’s maiden win

The victory of CPB Sport’s Senna Van Valstijn (Sodikart/TM) in KZ2 is quite remarkable, as the driver was at his maiden important victory. This was a well deserved result as he took the pole position, won the heats and the Prefinal. In the Final, the Dutch engaged in a big battle with some rivals that tried to ‘steal’ his lead: Fabian Federer (Maranello/TM) took an early lead but then had to retire due to a technical problem. Then, Luca Bosco (Birel ART/TM), who inherited the lead from Federer.

Van Valstijn regained the lead in the closing two laps and crossed the finish line leading a great Filippo Berto (Birel ART/TM) who also managed to find his way past Bosco, third. The fourth position went to Alessandro Buran (Birel ART/Vortex) after some troubles in qualifying, while the fifth place went to Ukraine’s Vyacheslav Putyatin (Sodikart/TM).

KZ2 Final Classification: 1. Van Valstijn; 2. Berto; 3. Bosco; 4. Buran; 5. Putyatin; 6. Pollini; 7. Giannoni; 8. Forè; 9. Ebner; 10. Dalè.

OK-Junior: Powell dominates

OK-Junior was dominated by the pace of Jamaica’s Alex Powell (KR/IAME) who took the lead of the Final and kept it for all the 18 laps, building a good margin on his direct rivals. Powell has been one of the main protagonists of the whole weekend, starting from the second place in qualifying that he kept after heats, to the victory in Prefinal and Final with more than seconds of margin on the Chinese Yuanpu Cui (/KR/IAME) and six seconds on Giovanni Trentin (Parolin/TM), who in turn climbed two places up from the result of Prefinal. His teammate Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin/TM) lost two places and crossed the finish line in fourth, leading Nicola Lacorte (KR/IAME) who has also been among the quickest of the weekend.

OK-Junior Final Classification: 1. Powell; 2. Cui; 3. Trentin; 4. Al Dhaheri; 5. Lacorte; 6. Luescher; 7. Kinnmark; 8. Desiderio; 9. Cesaretti; Delign

Mini: Photo-finish win for Lammers

A lot of protagonists came to the fore in International Mini, the category that once again confirmed the competitiveness of the youngest drivers. The Russian Gerasim Skulanov (IPK/TM) led the Thai Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Energy/TM) in qualifying, while in the heats Skulanov was again on top, this time around followed by René Lammers (Parolin/IAME) who made up for the lost ground and Tarnvanichkul, while the latter won the Prefinal from Skulanov to Lammers. After a few position exchanges on top, Lammers had the upper hand in the Final, as the previous leader Skunalov lost not only the race but also the second and third place. At the sprint to the line, the second spot went to the Finn Kimi Tani (Intrepid/TM), while the third to the Pole Maciej Gladysz (Parolin/TM). Skulanov was fourth and  Tarnvanichkul fifth. The first of the Italians was Emanuele Olivieri (IPK/TM), who recovered 11 positions.

International Mini classification: 1. Lammers; 2. Tani; 3. Gladysz; 4. Skulanov; 5. Tarnvanichkul; 6. Przyrowski; 7. Orjuela; 8. MacLaughlin; 9. Van Langendonck; 10. Olivieri

X30 Junior: Outran surprises all

The French Andy Ratel (Exprit/IAME), Riccardo Leone Cirelli (Tony Kart/IAME) and Andrea Barbieri (Tony Kart/IAME) displayed a great shape in the qualifying stages of IAME X30 Junior, but the Frenchman Clément Outran (KR/IAME) came to the fore in Prefinal and kept his momentum in the Final. After a few position exchanges on top that also included Oleksandr Bondarev (Tony Kart/IAME), Outran regained the lead in the three final laps and secured the win from Bondarev to Manuel Scognamiglio (Tony Kart/IAME), as the latter recovered well from an unlucky qualifying. The fourth place went to Francesco Marenghi (KR/IAME), the fifth to Barbieri.

X30 Junior classification: 1. Outran; 2. Bondarev; 3. Scognamiglio; 4. Marenghi; 5. Barbieri; 6. Costa; 7. Cirelli; 8. De Palo; 9. Leopardi; 10. D’Urso

X30 Senior: Villa takes another win

Great duels took place in IAME X30 Senior, as an excellent Edoardo Villa (TB Kart/IAME) secured the second win in a row of the Andrea Margutti Trophy. The Italian has always been among the quickest of the weekend with a lot of other protagonists. Danny Carenini (Tony Kart/IAME) had the upper hand in the heats, while Villa was relegated to ninth by a penalty. The Prefinal gave him the chance climb all the way up and take the win from Alessandro Cenedese (KR/IAME) to Carenini.

The start of the Final put Carenini out the contention, as he lost ten places, while Villa took the lead of the race and kept it all the way to the flag. Valentino Baracco was second and Brando Pozzi (Top Kart/IAME) third, after shining with the pole position in qualifying. Carenini was fourth at the flag but then he was pushed down to seventh by a penalty. The fourth place went therefore to Alessandro Cenedese (KR/IAME) who got it off Gianluigi Palego (Tony Kart/IAME) as the latter was handed a three-second penalty.

X30 Senior classification: 1. Villa; 2. Baracco; 3. Pozzi; 4. Cenedese; 5. Palego; 6. Pulito; 7. Carenini; 8. Ferrari; 9. Ingolfo; 10. Di Filippo

You may also be interested in:

Follow The RaceBox on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Youtube!