• Text: Guillaume Alvarez
  • Photos: Alex Vernardis


Already amongst the fastest at last week’s WSK Champions Cup, the Russian Nikita Bedrin (Tony Kart/Vortex) set the qualifying pace in an OK class filled with 71 competitors. The Ward Racing driver took the fastest performance in the first of the three series and could not be caught, not even by Enzo Trulli (KR/IAME), the fastest in the second group. Polesitter last weekend, Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR/IAME) was fastest in the last series but had to make do with the third-best time ahead of Dilano Van’t Hoff (Exprit/TM) and Kirill Smal (Energy/TM). WSK Champions Cup winner Taylor Barnard (KR/IAME) was ninth, OK World Champion Lorenzo Travisanutto 16th for his season debut with the Tony Kart Racing Team.

The first OK Qualifying Heat (C-E) was won by Kirill Smal in front of Andrea Kimi Antonelli, followed by Robert De Haan (Energy Corse/TM), James Wharton (Parolin/TM), recovering from eighth on the grid, and Norton Andreasson (Ton Kart/Vortex). Luigi Coluccio (Kosmic/Vortex) produced a solid effort from 19th to 10th for his season’s start. Friday’s second race (B-D) saw the British Joe Turney (Tony Kart/Vortex) climbing from fifth to beat polesitter Enzo Trulli. Dilano Van’t Hoff dropped a position and finished third ahead of Marcus Amand (KR/IAME) and Lorenzo D’Aloisio (KR/IAME).


The 73 entrants of the OK-Junior category were the first on track on Friday afternoon. For the second week in a row, the Italian Brando Badoer (KR/IAME) topped the Qualifying’s timesheet after benefiting from improving conditions in the second series. Tymoteusz Kucharczyk (RK/TM) put his Robert Kubica chassis up in second position in front of Christian Ho (KR/IAME), faster than the rest in the third group, Karol Pasiewicz (Tony Kart/Vortex) and Ugo Ugochukwu (Kosmic/Vortex). Winner of the WSK Champions Cup a few days ago, Alfio Spina (KR/IAME) was 17th.

Four Junior Qualifying Heats were on Friday’s schedule. Artem Severiukhin (Tony Kart/Vortex) won the first race (C-E) ahead of Christian Ho with Ugo Ugochukwu completing the Top Three, followed by Cristian Bertuca (Birel ART/TM) and Philip Victorsson (Parolin/TM). Tymoteusz Kucharczyk kept his advantage in the following 12 lap-confrontation (B-D) with Even Giltaire (Sodikart/TM) finishing second ahead of Alfio Spina, Karol Pasiewicz and Martinius Stenshorne (KR/IAME).

The third heat race (A-E) was won by Arvid Lindblad (KR/IAME) preceding Ugochukwu, Kirill Kutskov (Tony Kart/Vortex), Akshay Bohra (KR/IAME) and Philip Victorsson. Eventually, Severiukhin added a second victory to his tally in the fourth race (C-D) that he clinched in front of Karol Pasiewicz, Christian Ho, Cristian Bertuca and Maxwell Dodds (Exprit/TM) who couldn’t take his previous heat’s start.

Mini 60

The most-crowded of all three classes with 85 drivers, the Mini 60 class concluded the qualifying exercise with Dmitry Matveev (Energy Corse/TM) taking the highest spot. The Russian emerged in the second group with a faster lap than Marcus Saeter (Energy Corse/TM) in the opening series. The latter was eventually pushed down to third place by Maciej Gladysz (Parolin/TM). Jan Przyrowsky (Parolin/TM) took the class’s fourth-best lap time ahead of Anatoly Khavalkin (Parolin/TM), in contention for a second consecutive win in Adria after the WSK Champions Cup.

Guillaume Bouzar (Parolin/TM) took his first victory in the opening heat (C-E) against polesitter Marcus Saeter and Yuampu Cui (Tony Kart/TM). The young Dutchman Thijs Keeren (KR/IAME) did a strong job overtaking seven drivers to finish fourth ahead of Peter Bouzinelos (KR/IAME). Starting from the front row, Anatoly Khavalkin crossed the finish line down in sixth position. The second Mini race (B-D) went to a recovering Kean Berta Nakamura (KR/IAME) in front of Maciej Gladysz, German Foteev (Energy Corse/TM), Jan Przyroswky and Jimmy Hélias (Tony Kart/Vortex).

Competition is back tomorrow morning on the Adria Karting Raceway with the next Qualifying Heats of the WSK Super Master Series unfolding from 10:35 am and that you can follow on our live timing page.

Main schedule

Saturday08:50 – 10:30 Warm-up
10:35 – 17:50 Qualifying Heats
Sunday08:50 – 10:30 Warm-up
10:40 – 13:20 Prefinals
14:00 – 15:25 Finals

You may also be interested in:

Follow The RaceBox on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Youtube!