• Text: Guillaume Alvarez
  • Photos: WSK Promotion

OK: Turney on the rise

Joseph Turney (Tony Kart/Vortex) reached the front of the provisional classification in the OK class at the conclusion of his heat races. Third at Lonato for the Open Cup’s previous round, the Brit rose to the top position of the 34 driver-filled pack with one victory and a second place which added to his opening win on Friday. Turney will, therefore, start tomorrow’s Prefinal from pole position with Taylor Barnard (KR/IAME) by his side. Following a second position-finish yesterday, the Rosberg Racing Academy driver showed again a strong form on track with two wins.

The Russian Kirill Smal (Tony Kart/Vortex) was classified in third place thanks to a victory an a second place, followed in fourth by Dilano Van’t Hoff (Exprit/TM). Winner of his opening heat race yesterday, the class polesitter couldn’t carry his momentum and will start from the second row of the Prefinal grid. Recently appointed by Kosmic, Luigi Coluccio (Kosmic/Vortex) is ranked in fifth place ahead of Laurens Van Hoepen (FA Kart/Vortex), Norton Andreasson (Tony Kart/Vortex), Danny Carenini (Tony Kart/Vortex), the OK World Champion Lorenzo Travisanutto (Tony Kart/Vortex) and Bastian Buus (Tony Kart/Vortex).

OK-Junior: Stenshorne and De Haan close at the top

Martinius Stenshorne (KR/IAME) concluded all of his four qualifying heats within the top 3, including two wins, to be made provisional leader of the OK-Junior category. The Dutchman Robert De Haan (Energy Corse/TM) comes in second overall with a similar amount of five points as well as two victories. Artem Severiukhin (Tony Kart/Vortex) follows in third place ahead of Ugo Ugochukwu (FA Kart/Vortex), both winner of a race, and Nikita Bedrin (Tony Kart/Vortex).

The second half of the classification’s upper part is completed by Igor Cepil (KR/IAME) in front of Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR/IAME). The young Italian took the win in his first three races before a retirement at the end of the day pushed him down to sixth in the ranking. The European Junior Champion Marcus Amand (KR/IAME) comes behind in seventh position thanks to a second place and a win, followed by Alexander Gubenko (Kosmic/Vortex) and James Wharton (Parolin/TM) who managed to recover from a distant 31st qualifying performance to enter the Top Ten.

The starting order for the OK-Junior Final will be determined in the Prefinal A and B taking place on Sunday morning. Stenshorne and De Haan will start from pole position.

60 Mini: Tsolov in control

Winner of his first heat on Friday, Nikola Tsolov (Parolin/TM) confirmed his early good intentions by adding two more victories and a third place today at Sette Laghi, topping the intermediate classification in 60 Mini. Dmitry Matveev (Energy Corse/TM) also scored three wins and finishes in second position overall ahead of Enzo Tarnvainchkul (Parolin/TM), victorious on two occasions.

Anatoly Khavalkin (Parolin/TM) follows in fourth place with Shimo Zhang (Parolin/TM) in fifth, Cui Yuanpu (Tony Kart/TM) in sixth, Nakamura (Tony Kart/Vortex) in seventh, Jimmy Helias (Tony Kart/Vortex) in eight, Rashid Al Dahehi (Parolin/TM) in ninth and Maciej Gladysz in tenth (Parolin/TM). Despite two top three-results, Friday’s polesitter Louis Iglesias was only classified 17th overall after being deprived of a six-place finish in his last race due to a front fairing penalty.

The starting order for the 60 Mini Final will be determined in the Prefinal A and B taking place on Sunday morning with Tsolov and Matveev respectively on pole position.

Find out more about the provisional ranking of OK, OK-Junior and 60 Mini.

Main Schedule:

Sunday08:45 – 10:12 Warm-up
10:20 – 12:40 Prefinals – Finals B
14:00 – 15:30 Finals

You may be interested in:

Follow The RaceBox on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Youtube!