• Text & Photos: WSK Promotion

The sprint to the line of the WSK Open Cup is underway as the International Karting Series will name its winners on Sunday, November 10th, at the end of the tough challenge of the Second Round which started on Friday with qualifying practice and the initial heats at the Sette Laghi Kart Circuit in Castelletto di Branduzzo.

The provisional leaders set the benchmark for all the drivers present that are split into the three entitled categories: the Brit Taylor Barnard (KR/IAME) is leading the pack in class OK, the Italian Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR/IAME) tops the OK-Junior category and the Bulgarian Nikola Tsolov (Parolin/TM) is on top in 60 Mini. This exciting challenge will take place on the 1256 meters of the circuit located in between the lakes of the Oltrepo Pavese region. The final qualifying heats will take place this Saturday while the final showdown will unfold on Sunday with Prefinals and Finals.

OK: Van’t Hoff’s charge

The attack to the leader of OK Taylor Barnard has already been moved, courtesy of the Dutch Dilano Van’t Hoff (Exprit/TM) who was the quickest in qualifying in 55.375 seconds. He was followed by the Finn Matias Salonen (KR/IAME). Van’t Hoff repeated his performance in the heats, winning the first race from Barnard as the latter bounced back from his ninth place in qualifying. The second run went to the Brit Joseph Turney (Tony Kart/Vortex) who led his Italian team-mate Lorenzo Travisanutto (Tony Kart/Vortex).

OK-Junior: Bergman launched the challenge

Antonelli has been challenged by the Swede Calle Bergman (Tony Kart/Vortex) in the OK-Junior class. The latter posted the quickest time in qualifying completing his best performance in 1:02.983 seconds and was followed by the classification leader from Italy. The Dutchman Robert De Haan (Energy Corse/TM) slid in winning the first qualifying heat leading the Czech Igor Cepil (KR/IAME). Antonelli bounced back straight away and won the second heat from the Norwegian Martinius Stenshorne (KR/IAME).

60 Mini: Iglesias trying to pull away

The French Louis Iglesias (IPK/TM) challenged the 60 Mini’s leader Tsolov, setting the benchmark time in qualifying in 57.860 seconds. He was followed by the Chinese Shimo Zhang (Parolin/TM). Ukraine’s Oleksander Bondarev (Tony Kart/TM) won the first of the heats leading the Austrian Kiano Blum (Parolin/TM). Tsolov (Parolin/TM) came back to the fore in the second heat when he took the win from the Thai Enzo Tarnvainchkul (Parolin/TM).

Main Schedule:

Saturday10:10 – 16:40 Qualifying Heats
Sunday10:20 – 13:00 Prefinals – Finals B
14:00 – 15:30 Finals

You may also like:

Follow The RaceBox on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Youtube!