Text & photos: www.wskarting.it

OK: Barnard gives a winning response to his rivals

After facing a setback in one of the Qualifying Heats on Saturday, the Brit Taylor Barnard (KR/IAME) recovered well yesterday, already in the Prefinal A where he took victory ahead of Kirill Smal (Tony Kart/Vortex) before beating the Russian again in the Final with Joseph Turney (Tony Kart/Vortex) coming in third after having won the Prefinal B.

For his first appearance back in the Tony Kart colors, Pedro Hiltbrand (Tony Kart/Vortex) concluded his weekend in fourth place, followed by Luca Griggs (Tony Kart/Vortex), Dilano Van’t Hoff (Exprit/TM), penalized with five seconds for front fairing, Hannes Janker (KR/IAME), Norton Andreasson (Tony Kart/Vortex) and Danny Carenini (Tony Kart/Vortex). Having climbed the field from 22nd on the grid, Thomas Ten Brinke (FA Kart/Vortex) felt short from entering the top ten in 11th position.

OK-Junior: Antonelli inherits victory after thrilling photo finish battle

The OK-Junior Final saw a thrilling finish in its last lap when Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR/IAME) went for a move on Nikita Bedrin (Tony Kart/Vortex), winner of the Prefinal B, getting past his rival through the hairpin. As a result, the race end came down to a five-driver battle all looking for a photo finish victory. At the line, Arvin Lindblad (KR/IAME) had the upper hand but was then penalized together with Bedrin for an incorrect position of the front fairing. The victory, therefore, went to Antonelli ahead of the Colombian Diego Contecha (Exprit/Vortex) and Martinius Stenshorne (KR/IAME).

Alfio Spina (KR/IAME) made a few places up to fourth in front of Christian Ho (KR/IAME), in the top five for his maiden race with the Sauber Junior Karting Team. Lindblad and Bedrin were eventually classified in sixth and seventh ahead of Andrey Zhivnov (Tony Kart/TM), Ugo Cepil (KR/IAME) and Ariel Elkin (IPK/TM). Second at the chequered flag, Artem Severiukhin (Tony Kart/Vortex), winner of the Prefinal A, received a ten second-penalty for jump start that pushed him further down the order in 11th position.

60 Mini: Tsolov recovers and wins

Winner of the Prefinal B, the Bulgarian Nikola Tsolov (Parolin/TM) made good use of his Pole position to dominate the 60 Mini Final. The brawl further back saw Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin/TM) finish in second place in front of Anatoly Khavalkin (Parolin/TM), split by just 0.004 seconds on the finish line! Kirill Kutskov (Energy/TM) took fourth place ahead of Mark Dubnitski (Energy/TM), Jan Przyrowsky (Parolin/TM), Kiano Blum (Parolin/TM), Oleksander Bondarev (Tony Kart/TM), August Therbo (Parolin/TM) and Adam Hideg (Parolin/TM).

KZ2: Palomba conquers victory

Victorious of Sunday morning’s Prefinal, Giuseppe Palomba (BirelArt/TM) carried his winning momentum until the finish of the KZ2 Final that he took ahead of his countryman and main opponent Giacomo Pollini (Formula K/TM). In third place came the Dutchman Senna Van Valstijn (KR/TM) who was able to get past Alessio Lorandi (Parolin/TM) who still kept the third place in the class standings after Round 1.

Down in fifth was Jean Luyet (CRG/TM), followed by Alessio Piccini (Tony Kart/Vortex), Stan Pex (KR/TM), Jean Nomblot (Sodikart/TM), Lorenzo Giannoni (Sodikart/TM), Leonardo Bizzotto (Formula K/TM).

The Second and Final Round of the WSK Open Cup will take place on the 7 Laghi Karting Circuit of Castelletto di Branduzzo from November 8th to 10th. An event you’ll be again able to follow on The RaceBox!

You may also like:

Follow The RaceBox on FacebookTwitter, Instagram, and Youtube!