Text & photo: www.wskarting.it

KZ2: Giacomo Pollini on Pole Position

It was the driver from the nearby city of Brescia who took pole in KZ2 with a time of 46.743 seconds ahead of Giuseppe Palomba (BirelART / TM) with a 46.912, followed by the Frenchman Tom Leuillet (Praga / TM) with 46.967. Giacomo Pollini (Formula K / TM) also found his old rival Alessio Lorandi (Parolin / TM), who had gone on to forge a career in single-seater Formula 3 and Formula 2, as the fourth quickest with a time of 46.976 seconds. The first heat raced this afternoon went to Palomba ahead of Lorandi and Pollini.

OK: Kirill Smal in the lead

The Russian Kirill Smal (Tony Kart / Vortex) was fastest in the OK Qualifying with a lap performance of 47.249 seconds ahead of the Brit Joseph Turney (Tony Kart / Vortex) in 47.480 with Kajus Siksnelis (Tony Kart / Vortex) third with 47.376. Smal kept his fine form winning the first heat with Noah Dengbol (Tony Kart / Vortex) winning the second.

OK-Junior: Andrea Kimi Antonelli the quickest

Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR / IAME) was immediately in ‘attack mode’ in OK-Junior taking Pole position in 48.324 seconds. He was followed by Singapore’s Christian Ho (KR / IAME) with a time of 48.811, then the Russian driver Artem Severiukhin (Tony Kart / Vortex) with 48.975. It was however the latter who took the first heat win with his countryman Nikita Bedrin (Tony Kart / Vortex) winning the second one on schedule yesterday.

60 Mini: Nikola Tsolov takes Pole

The youngest drivers racing this weekend were also the most numerous at Lonato. At the end of Qualifying, it was the Bulgarian Nikola Tsolov (Parolin / TM) who took Pole position with a time of 53.880 seconds. Jan Przrowsky (Parolin / TM) of Poland was second with a time of 54.110, then the Austrian Kiano Blum (Parolin / TM) with 54.219. In the three heats raced, Tsolov, Blum and the Emirati Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin / TM) took a win apiece.

Don’t miss a bit from the opening round of the WSK Open Cup at Lonato thanks to our special page!

Main Schedule

Saturday08:20 – 09:48 Warm-up sessions
09:50 – 16:45 Qualifying Heats
Sunday08:40 – 09:58 Warm-up sessions
10:00 – 11:00 Qualifying Heats
11:00 – 13:20 Prefinals
14:00 – 16:00 Finals

Follow The RaceBox on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram!