• Text: Parma Motorsport
  • Photos: FM Press / Sportinphoto

The 48th Trofeo delle Industrie has lived a very difficult edition due to the rain that made things tricky in Qualifying and in the heats on Saturday and Sunday when the track was soaked for the final stages of the event organized by Parma Motorsport at the South Garda Karting Circuit of Lonato.

Among the 247 drivers out of the 253 coming from 42 different countries, the main protagonists of the event have turned into “rain masters” like Lorenzo Giannoni who competed for Team CPB Sport (Sodi/TM) in KZ2, the Dutch Dilano Van’t Hoff of Forza Racing (Exprit/TM) in OK, Alessandro Cenedese of Team Driver Racing Kart (KR/IAME) in OK-Junior, the Russian Kirill Kutskov of Team Energy Corse (Energy/TM) in Minikart and Danny Carenini of Team Autoeuropeo Motorsport (Tony Kart/IAME) in X30 Senior.

The five winners of the corresponding categories have been very skilled in mastering the driving on the wet, even when the racetrack was soaked during the Prefinals on Sunday. Clouds opened up a bit for the Finals but the circuit has been wet despite the tarmac effectively draining the water.

KZ2: Giannoni the “rain master”

In KZ2, Lorenzo Giannoni on Sodi/TM has been the unquestioned “rain master” of the 48th Trofeo delle Industrie. He took Pole position in Qualifying, won the heats, dominated the Prefinal and Final. He was joined on the podium by the reigning European Champion Emil Skaras on Energy/TM and by his team-mate from France Jean Nomblot. Manuel Cozzaglio secured an excellent fourth place on Birel Art/TM run by Team Vzeta while the fifth place went to another team-mate of Giannoni, the Russian Artem Kosarev. The sixth place went to Fabian Federer at the end of a comeback-race on Maranello/TM prepared by team SRP Racing Team. Lorenzo Giannoni won also the “Memorial Carlo Fabi”, the trophy for the driver securing the best overall result in all classes.

OK: Van’t Hoff dominates

In OK, the Dutchman Dilano Van’t Hoff won everything up for grabs on his Exprit/TM material. He took Pole position, won the heats, the Prefinal and then the Final producing another great racer like the Russian Kirill Smal on Tony Kart/Vortex run by Team Ward Racing and the Spaniard Genis Civico Espona on CRG/IAME of team CRG. The fourth position went to the Swede Norton Andreasson on Tony Kart/Vortex, who led the other Swede Theo Wernersson on Kosmic/TM, while Enzo Trulli saw the podium slip off his hands and had to settle for sixth on his KR/Parilla.

OK-Junior: Cenedese super in Prefinal and Final

In OK-Junior, Alessandro Cenedese on KR/IAME saw the pole position slipping away from him but the Team Driver’s racer bounced back from third, winning two heats before claiming some further wins in Prefinal and Final. Cenedese won the race valid for the Trofeo delle Industrie from his Norwegian team-mate Martinius Stenshorne and the Russian Artem Severiukhin on Tony Kart/Vortex, while the Australian James Wharton lost the third place due to a penalty on Parolin/TM, followed by the Spaniard James Wharton on FA/IAME and Brando Badoer on KR/IAME.

Minikart: The Russian Kutskov ends on a successful note

The young Russian Kirill Kutskov won the Minikart class on Energy/TM. He dominated the scene since Qualifying but in the Final, he had to battle especially with United Arab Emirates’ Rashid Al Dhaheri on Parolin/TM as the latter managed to place his kart in front of Kutskov’s in more than one occasion. The Russian eventually managed to cross the finish line first. The third and fourth place went to two other Russians, German Foteev and Dmitry Mateev. The fifth place went to the Austrian Kiano Blum on Parolin/TM, who led the great driver from Chile Nicolas Ambiado also on Parolin/TM.

X30 Senior: Double win for Carenini

Danny Carenini had the upper hand on all his rivals in IAME X30 Senior on Tony Kart/IAME from Team Autoeuropeo. He claimed Pole position, won the heats and then Prefinal and Final. He has always been confident in his capabilities and the undisputed leader of the category. In the Final, Carenini led Edoardo Maccari on Intrepid/IAME, Alex Machado on Tony Kart/IAME, the Pole Maciej Szyszko on KR/IAME and Mattia Ingolfo on KR/IAME who took Edoardo Ludovico Villa’s place on TB Kart/IAME when the latter was handed a time penalty. This win earned Carenini also the IAME Series Italy X30 Senior Trophy that combines the classification of the Andrea Margutti Trophy and the Trofeo delle Industrie.