• Text: Guillaume Alvarez
  • Infos & photo: South Garda Karting

The four categories KZ2, OK, OK-Junior and Mini ROK are featured in an important entry list marking yet another attending record of 305 participants for the competition that has become a classic for many kart racers around the world for the past quarter of a century.

A lot of champions took part in this race over the years, starting from 1996 when the first edition was won by Antonio Liuzzi in 100 ICA. Among those that climbed up the motorsport ladder, Jenson Button came second in 100 Formula Super A in 1987, Robert Kubica was third in 100 Junior in 1999, Daniil Kvyat won KF3 in 2009, Max Verstappen was second in the same class in 2010 leading Alexander Albon. The Dutch driver was also present in 2011 taking second again in KF3 before winning KF2 in 2012.

George Russell won KF3 in 2012, while the young Charles Leclerc came to the fore winning KZ2 the next season and Max Verstappen won again KF2. A lot of other karting champions have competed in the Winter Cup over the years, as Ben Hanley who claimed it four times (2001, 2004, 2005 and 2018) and Marco Ardigò, winner on three occasions (1998, 1999 and 2016).

Weather forecast

  • Wednesday: Sunny, Rain 0%, Humidity 63%, 2-14°C
  • Thursday: Partly Cloudy, Rain 10%, Humidity 59%, 2-11°C
  • Friday: Sunny, Rain 10%, Humidity 64%, 3-14°C
  • Saturday: Mostly sunny, Rain 0%, Humidity 61%, 2-13°C
  • Sunday: Partly Cloudy, Rain 10%, Humidity 68%, 6-14°C


South Garda, nicknamed “the Temple of Karting”, is one of the most celebrated karting tracks in the world. Surrounded by some of the biggest factories in the business, the track has been hosting many international competitions since its foundation back in 1988, such as the Winter Cup, ROK Cup Superfinal, rounds of the FIA Karting European Championship or the World Championship itself, the most recent case in last September.

Made of 14 corners spread over 1200 meters, South Garda has been specifically designed to deliver strong emotions not only to drivers but also to fans who can gather around the layout as well as in the main grandstand to watch the action up close.

Throwback to Marijn Kremers (Birel ART/TM/Bridgestone) going for a series of hot laps around South Garda Karting at the 2019 FIA Karting World Championship – KZ!


KZ2: 68 drivers

Birel Art will run full ranks with 2019 KZ World Vice-Champion Riccardo Longhi and other top drivers in the likes of Alex Irlando and Giuseppe Palomba. Tony Kart Racing Team will be led by Simo Puhakka and Alessio Piccini. Sodikart will field an impressive line-up within CPB Sport along with its official factory team represented by Adrien Renaudin.

The new Charles Leclerc by Lennox Racing Team will see the debut of Matteo Viganò, as the official teams CRG, Maranello Kart and Drago Racing. Some other strong drivers will be present like William Lanzeni with Vemme Kart, Kristijan Habulin with TB Kart, Francesco Celenta with Praga Racing Team, Jérémy Iglésias with Formula K, and Alexander Dahlberg with Energy Corse.

OK: 85 drivers

The OK category features many top names as well, starting with two times World Champion Lorenzo Travisanutto alongside Pedro Hiltbrand for Tony Kart Racing Team. Ward Racing will field Nikita Bedrin, Kosmic Racing will be led by Luigi Coluccio. Exprit Racing Team will see FIA Karting Academy Trophy Winner Kajus Siksnelis on track and Ricky Flynn Motorsport will count on reigning Junior World Champion Thomas Ten Brinke.

Kirill Smal and Robert De Haan are to be kept under close watch with Energy Corse, just like Dilano Van’t Hoff and Forza Racing. Andrea Kimi Antonelli will compete for KR Motorsport and Taylor Barnard as Rosberg Racing Academy’s standard-bearer.

OK-Junior: 85 drivers

Participation in OK-Junior is equally important, including young drivers stepping up from Mini 60 like William MacIntyre (Sodikart), Ean Eyckmans (Kosmic), Nikola Tsolov (DPK), Karol Pasiewicz (Tony Kart), Coskun Irfan (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Francesco Marenghi (CRG) and Alex Powell (Energy) who will try retain his crown from 2019 in Mini ROK.

Amongst potential victory contenders are Ugo Ugochukwu (Ricky Flynn Motorsport), Cristian Bertuca and Tymoteusz Kucharczyk (Birel Art). Kart Republic won’t lack forces either with Brando Badoer, Arvid Lindblad and Alfio Spina, while Christian Ho will defend the Sauber Karting Team.

Mini ROK: 65 drivers

In Mini ROK, spotlights will be on Maciej Gladysz (Parolin) but also Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Baby Race), Peter Bouzinellos (Team Kidix), Dmitry Matveev and German Fotveev (both on Energy Corse) as well as Rashid Al Dhaheri (Team Ippoliti).

Main schedule

Wednesday08:30 – 17:49 Free Practice
Thursday08:30 – 17:49 Free Practice
Friday08:30 – 10:40 Warm-up
10:50 – 13:21 Qualifying Practice
13:31 – 17:16 Qualifying Heats
Saturday08:30 – 10:52 Warm-up
11:02 – 17:37 Qualifying Heats
Sunday08:30 – 10:28 Warm-up
12:10 – 14:45 Super Heats
15:05 – 17:05 Finals

Useful documents

Follow The RaceBox on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Youtube!