Mid-April, the kick-off to the German Kart Championship with its four grade series DKM, DJKM, DSKM, and DSKC took place on the South Garda Circuit of Lonato. In Wackersdorf, the German Electric Kart Championship (DEKM) will be added as the only pure electric kart racing series starts its second season.

After an exciting kick-off, Kas Haverkort (DKM), Robert De Haan (DJKM), Fabian Federer (DSKM) and Tim Tröger (DSKC) are in the leading position heading for the Pro Kart Raceland and the cards are going to be mixed up anew on the 1.190m-long track.

Two days of racing action via live-stream and on YouTube

Kart racing fans at home can look forward to thrilling live action via online stream from Qualifying on Saturday as well as for the final races on Sunday. More than 16 hours will be broadcasted from Wackersdorf with, additionally, background reports and prompt racing reports on the social media channels of the German Kart Championship.

New or old winners?

The four DMSB grade series were really balanced at the season kick-off in Italy. In the DKM, reigning FIA Karting World Champion Lorenzo Travisanutto (CV Performance Group) and Kas Haverkort (CRG Keijzer Racing) kept switching positions at the top. The latter travels to Wackersdorf as the overall leading driver. The races between the Juniors were really close as well with, in the end, Robert De Haan (Energy Corse) coming out on top.

There were several surprises in the two shifter classes with two guest drivers, Fabrizio Rosato (SRP Racing Team) and Lorenzo Giannoni (CPB Sport), taking the wins. The most regular of them all was defending Champion Fabian Federer (SRP Racing Team). A record field of 50 drivers will feature in the DMSB Shifterkart Cup. After the heats, as usual, the field will be divided into two groups which will then fight in the Prefinals for the last 34 tickets available for the Finals.

Kick-off to the German Electric Kart Championship

The season debut to the DEKM takes place this weekend in Wackersdorf. Electric pioneers from seven nations make for an international field of participants including Luka Wlömer and Lukas Horstmann, two well-known drivers. The duo already started in 2018 and finished the season in third and fourth positions, making them logical contenders for the title. All other drivers are breaking new ground. Next to four Germans, the others are from the Netherlands, Great Britain, Switzerland, Italy, Israel, and Taiwan.

Useful links:

Text & photo: DKM Presse

Editing: Guillaume Alvarez