Everyone was looking forward to the FIA Karting European Championship – KZ Final, but no one expected such a dramatic twist. To begin with, Matteo Vigano (Tony Kart / Vortex) and Anthony Abbasse (Sodikart / TM Racing) were on the same trajectory and went off the track a few tens of metres after the start, so the top two in the provisional standings were eliminated before the end of the first lap. Shortly after, Simo Puhakka (Tony Kart / Vortex) crashed with Alessandro Irlando (Birel ART / TM Racing) who was the other big favourite forced to retire.

The battle was raging in the lead among the survivors, with Lorenzo Camplese (Tony Kart / Vortex) and Bas Lammers (Sodikart / TM Racing) competing for 1st position and the conquest of the title at the same time. Marco Ardigo (Tony Kart / Vortex) retired and it was Jorrit Pex (KR / TM Racing) in 3rd position and new leader of the classification. The race ended in this order, with Camplese winning a second ahead of Lammers and Jorrit Pex 3rd, three seconds behind. Stan Pex (KR / TM Racing) was 4th and Marijn Kremers (Birel ART / TM Racing) was back in the top five with a gain of 12 places.

Final classification of the 2019 FIA Karting European Championship – KZ:

 1- Jorrit Pex – 42 pts
 2- Lorenzo Camplese – 41 pts
 3- Anthony Abbasse – 41 pts
 4- Bas Lammers – 41 pts
 5- Matteo Vigano – 32 pts

Text: FIA Karting

Photos: Alex Vernardis